How to Make Your Annual Leave Go Further in 2018

176b51c2-334f-44f4-8c2b-3053849d92ff.jpg

What if, instead of having to drag your feet back into the office after a long weekend you could make your holiday last a little bit longer? Now you don’t have to wish, you can do. Here’s exactly how to make your annual leave work hard for you.

New South Wales

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays: Friday, 30 March (Good Friday); Saturday, 31 March (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 1 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 2 April (Easter Monday) 
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April

Or book your four days annual leave later in the month for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Sunday, 29 April
Public holiday: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 9 June – Sunday, 17 June
Public holiday: Monday, 11 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 12 June; Wednesday, 13 June; Thursday, 14 June; Friday, 15 June

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 29 September – Sunday, 7 October
Public holiday: Monday, 1 October (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 2 October; Wednesday, 3 October; Thursday, 4 October; Friday, 5 October

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

Victoria

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 10 March – Sunday, 18 March 
Public holiday:Monday, 12 March (Labour Day) 
Days to book: Tuesday, 13 March; Wednesday, 14 March; Thursday, 15 March; Friday, 16 March

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays: Friday, 30 March (Good Friday); Saturday, 31 March (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 1 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 2 April (Easter Monday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April

Or book your four days annual leave later in the month for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Sunday, 29 April
Public holiday: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 9 June – Sunday, 17 June
Public holiday: Monday, 11 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 12 June; Wednesday, 13 June; Thursday, 14 June; Friday, 15 June

September

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 September – Sunday, 30 September
Public holiday: Friday, 28 September (Grand Final Friday)
Days to book: Monday, 24 September; Tuesday, 25 September; Wednesday, 26 September; Thursday, 27 September

November

Swap a day of annual leave for a four-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 3 November – Tuesday, 6 November
Public holiday: Tuesday, 6 November (Melbourne Cup Day)
Days to book: Monday, 5 November

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

Western Australia

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 3 March – Sunday, 11 March
Public holiday: Monday, 5 March (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 6 March; Wednesday, 7 March; Thursday, 8 March; Friday, 9 March

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays: Friday, 30 March (Good Friday); Monday, 2 April (Easter Monday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April

Or book your four days annual later in the month for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Sunday, 29 April
Public holiday: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 2 June – Sunday, 10 June
Public holiday: Monday, 4 June (Western Australia Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 5 June; Wednesday, 6 June; Thursday, 7 June; Friday, 8 June

September

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 September – Sunday, 30 September
Public holiday: Monday, 24 September (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 25 September; Wednesday, 26 September; Thursday, 27 September; Friday, 28 September

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

How to Make the Most of Your Annual Leave in 2018

Queensland

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

 

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays: Friday, 30 March (Good Friday); Saturday, 31 March (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 1 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 2 April (Easter Monday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April

Or swap nine days annual leave for 17-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Monday, 7 May
Public holidays: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day); Monday, 7 May (Labour Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April; Monday, 30 April; Tuesday, 1 May; Wednesday, 2 May; Thursday, 3 May; Friday, 4 May

August

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 11 August – Sunday, 19 August
Public holiday: Wednesday, 15 August (Royal Queensland Show)
Days to book: Monday, 13 August; Tuesday, 14 August; Thursday, 16 August; Friday, 17 August 

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 29 September – Sunday, 7 September
Public holiday: Monday, 1 October (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 2 October; Wednesday, 3 October; Thursday, 4 October; Friday, 5 October

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

Northern Territory

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays:  Friday, 30 March (Good Friday); Saturday, 31 March (Easter Saturday); Monday, 2 April (Easter Monday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April

Or swap nine days annual leave for 17-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Monday, 7 May
Public holidays: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day); Monday, 7 May (May Day, Labour Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April; Monday, 30 April; Tuesday, 1 May; Wednesday, 2 May; Thursday, 3 May; Friday, 4 May

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 9 June – Sunday, 17 June
Public holiday: Monday, 11 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 12 June; Wednesday, 13 June; Thursday, 14 June; Friday, 15 June

August

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 4 August
Public holiday: Monday, 6 August
Days to book: Tuesday, 7 August; Wednesday, 8 August; Thursday, 9 August; Friday 10 August 

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

South Australia

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 10 March – Sunday, 18 March
Public holiday: Monday, 12 March (March Public Holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 13 March; Wednesday, 14 March; Thursday, 15 March; Friday, 16 March

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays: Friday 30 March (Good Friday); Saturday 31 March (Easter Saturday); Monday 2 April (Easter Monday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April

Or book your four days annual later in the month for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Sunday, 29 April
Public holiday: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April 

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 9 June – Sunday, 17 June
Public holiday: Monday, 11 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 12 June; Wednesday, 13 June; Thursday, 14 June; Friday, 15 June

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 29 September – Sunday, 7 October
Public holiday: Monday, 1 October (Labour Day) 
Days to book: 
Tuesday, 2 October; Wednesday, 3 October; Thursday, 4 October; Friday, 5 October

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day/Proclamation Day[); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

Australian Capital Territory

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 10 March – Sunday, 18 March 
Public holiday: Monday, 12 March (Canberra Day) 
Days to book: Tuesday, 13 March; Wednesday, 14 March; Thursday, 15 March; Friday, 16 March

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays: Friday, 30 March (Good Friday); Saturday, 31 March (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 1 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 2 April (Easter Monday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April 

Or book your four days annual later in the month for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Sunday, 29 April
Public holiday: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April

May

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 May – Sunday, 3 June 
Public holiday:
 Monday, 28 May (Reconciliation Day) 
Days to book: 
Tuesday, 29 May; Wednesday, 30 May; Thursday, 31 May; Friday, 1 June

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 9 June – Sunday, 17 June
Public holiday: Monday, 11 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 12 June; Wednesday, 13 June; Thursday, 14 June; Friday, 15 June

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break 
When to travel: Saturday, 29 September – Sunday, 7 October
Public holidays: Monday, 1 October (Labour Day) 
Days to book: Tuesday, 2 October; Wednesday, 3 October; Thursday, 4 October; Friday, 5 October

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

Tasmania

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break 
When to travel: Saturday, 20 January – Sunday, 28 January
Public holiday: Friday, 26 January (Australia Day)
Days to book: Monday, 22 January; Tuesday, 23 January; Wednesday, 24 January; Thursday, 25 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 10 March – Sunday, 18 March
Public holiday:Monday, 12 March (Eight Hours Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 13 March; Wednesday, 14 March; Thursday, 15 March; Friday, 16 March

April

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 30 March – Sunday, 8 April
Public holidays:  Friday, 30 March (Good Friday); Monday, 2 April (Easter Monday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 April; Wednesday, 4 April; Thursday, 5 April; Friday, 6 April 

Or book your four days annual later in the month for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 21 April – Sunday, 29 April
Public holiday: Wednesday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Monday, 23 April; Tuesday, 24 April; Thursday, 26 April; Friday, 27 April

 

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 9 June – Sunday, 17 June
Public holiday: Monday, 11 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 12 June; Wednesday, 13 June; Thursday, 14 June; Friday, 15 June

December

Swap seven days annual leave for a 16-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 22 December – Sunday, 6 January
Public holidays: Tuesday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Wednesday, 26 December (Boxing Day); Tuesday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Monday, 24 December; Thursday, 27 December; Friday, 28 December; Monday, 31 December; Wednesday, 2 January; Thursday, 3 January; Friday, 4 January

Find your dream holiday

Share this article

You Might Also Like