How to Make the Most of Your Annual Leave in 2020

Tokyo skyline

Want to get away from your desk for a proper break but don’t want to dip too far into your four weeks of annual leave? It’s possible to get more time to recharge without taking unpaid days off – if you know when to schedule it. This is how to make your annual leave allocation work harder for you by using Australia’s public holidays to your advantage.

New South Wales

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 17-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 6 June – Sunday, 14 June
Public holiday: Monday, 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 9 June; Wednesday, 10 June; Thursday, 11 June; Friday, 12 June

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 3 October – Sunday, 11 October
Public holiday: Monday, 5 October (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 6 October; Wednesday, 7 October; Thursday, 8 October; Friday, 9 October

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: 100 Australian Bucket-List Travel Experiences

Victoria

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 7 March – Sunday, 15 March 
Public holiday: Wednesday, 11 March (Labour Day) 
Days to book: Monday, 9 March; Tuesday, 10 March; Thursday, 12 March; Friday, 13 March

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 17-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 6 June – Sunday, 14 June
Public holiday: Monday, 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 9 June; Wednesday, 10 June; Thursday, 11 June; Friday, 12 June

September

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 19 September – Sunday, 27 September
Public holiday: Friday, 25 September (Grand Final Friday – to be confirmed)
Days to book: Monday, 21 September; Tuesday, 22 September; Wednesday, 23 September; Thursday, 24 September

November

Swap a day of annual leave for a four-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 31 October – Tuesday, 3 November
Public holiday: Tuesday, 3 November (Melbourne Cup Day)
Days to book: Monday, 2 November

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: The Best Boutique Hotels in Melbourne

Western Australia

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 29 February – Sunday, 8 March
Public holiday: Monday, 2 March (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 3 March; Wednesday, 4 March; Thursday, 5 March; Friday, 6 March

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 18-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Monday, 27 April (WA’s ANZAC public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 30 May – Sunday, 7 June
Public holiday: Monday, 1 June (Western Australia Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 2 June; Wednesday, 3 June; Thursday, 4 June; Friday, 5 June

September

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 26 September – Sunday, 4 October
Public holiday: Monday, 28 September (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 October; Wednesday, 30 September; Thursday, 1 October; Friday, 2 October

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: Why The Kimberley Needs to Be On Your Aussie Bucket List

Queensland

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 17-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

May

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 2 May – Sunday, 10 May
Public holidays: Monday, 4 May (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 5 May; Wednesday, 6 May; Thursday, 7 May; Friday, 8 May

August

If you’re in Brisbane, swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 8 August – Sunday, 16 August
Public holiday: Wednesday, 12 August (Royal Queensland Show)
Days to book: Monday, 10 August; Tuesday, 11 August; Thursday, 13 August; Friday, 14 August

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 3 October – Sunday, 11 October
Public holiday: Monday, 5 October (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 5 October; Wednesday, 7 October; Thursday, 8 October; Friday, 9 October

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: How to Spend a Weekend in Brisbane

Northern Territory

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 17-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

May

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 2 May – Sunday, 10 May
Public holidays: Monday, 4 May (May Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 5 May; Wednesday, 6 May; Thursday, 7 May; Friday, 8 May

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 6 June – Sunday, 14 June
Public holiday: Monday, 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 9 June; Wednesday, 10 June; Thursday, 11 June; Friday, 12 June

August

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 1 August – Sunday, 9 August
Public holiday: Monday, 3 August (Picnic Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 4 August; Wednesday, 5 August; Thursday, 6 August; Friday, 7 August

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: Why Katherine is the Perfect Gateway for Your Outback Holiday

South Australia

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 7 March – Sunday, 15 March 
Public holiday: Monday, 9 March (Adelaide Cup Day) 
Days to book: Tuesday, 10 March; Wednesday, 11 March; Thursday, 12 March; Friday, 13 March

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 17-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 6 June – Sunday, 16 June
Public holiday: Monday, 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 9 June; Wednesday, 10 June; Thursday, 11 June; Friday, 12 June

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 3 October – Sunday, 11 October
Public holiday: Monday, 5 October (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 6 October; Wednesday, 7 October; Thursday, 8 October; Friday, 9 October

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: This is How to Spend a Perfect Day in Adelaide

Australian Capital Territory

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 7 March – Sunday, 15 March 
Public holiday: Monday, 9 March (Canberra Day) 
Days to book: Tuesday, 11 March; Wednesday, 12 March; Thursday, 13 March; Friday, 14 March

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 17-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)

Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

May/June

Swap four days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 30 May – Monday 8 June 
Public holiday: Monday, 1 June (Reconciliation Day), Monday, 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 2 June; Wednesday, 3 June; Thursday, 4 June; Friday, 5 June

October

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 5 October – Sunday, 13 October
Public holiday: Monday, 7 October (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 8 October; Wednesday, 9 October; Thursday, 10 October; Friday, 11 October

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: A Family-friendly Guide to Canberra

Tasmania

January

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 25 January – Monday, 3 February
Public holiday: Monday, 27 January (Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January so the Monday becomes the public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 28 January; Wednesday, 29 January; Thursday, 30 January; Friday, 31 January

March

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 7 March – Sunday, 15 March 
Public holiday: Monday, 9 March (Eight Hours Day) 
Days to book: Tuesday, 10 March; Wednesday, 11 March; Thursday, 12 March; Friday, 13 March

April

Swap nine days annual leave for an 17-day break
When to travel: Friday, 10 April – Monday, 27 April
Public holidays: Friday, 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday, 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday, 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday, 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday, 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 14 April; Wednesday, 15 April; Thursday, 16 April; Friday, 17 April; Monday, 20 April; Tuesday, 21 April, Wednesday, 22 April, Thursday, 23 April; Friday, 24 April

June

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break
When to travel: Saturday, 6 June – Sunday, 14 June
Public holiday: Monday, 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday, 9 June; Wednesday, 10 June; Thursday, 11 June; Friday, 12 June

December

Swap three days annual leave for a 10-day break
When to travel: Friday, 25 December – Sunday, 3 January
Public holidays: Friday, 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday, 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday, 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday, 29 December; Wednesday, 30 December; Thursday, 31 December

SEE ALSO: Is Tasmania the Ultimate Family Destination?

Book flights

Start planning now

Share this article

You Might Also Like