Patricia Cross Joins Qantas Board

SYDNEY, 28 November 2003

The Chairman of Qantas, Margaret Jackson, today announced the appointment of Patricia Cross as a non-executive Director of the Board of Qantas Airways Limited.

Mrs Cross will fill a casual vacancy on the Qantas Board and take up the position on 1 January, 2004.

"I am delighted that Patricia is joining the Qantas Board and I am confident that she will further strengthen the diversity of experience and corporate skill that is offered by the other Board members," Ms Jackson said.

Mrs Cross is Chairman of Qantas Superannuation Limited and a Director of Wesfarmers Limited.

She is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, a Fellow of the Finance and Treasury Association, and a Member of Women Chiefs of Enterprise International. She recently received a Centenary Medal for service to Australian society through the finance industry.

Mrs Cross has previously served as Deputy Chairman of the Transport Accident Commission (Victoria), a Member of the Financial Sector Advisory Council, a Member of the Companies and Securities Advisory Committee, Director of AMP Limited, Director of Suncorp-Metway Limited, Member of the Merrill Lynch Australasia Advisory Board, and an advisory member of the Deloitte Touche Board of Partners. Mrs Cross has served on a variety of not for profit boards, including the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Opera Australia Capital Fund, the Heide Museum of Modern Art, Director and Councillor of RMIT University (Melbourne) and Governor of the American Chamber of Commerce in Australia.

Mrs Cross holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Georgetown University (Washington, DC) and, between 1981 and 1996, gained extensive international experience in banking and finance. She worked with Chase Manhattan Corporation, Banque Nationale de Paris and then National Australia Bank, where her last position was General Manager, Wholesale Banking. She was also a Member of the National Australia Bank Executive Committee.

Issued by Qantas Corporate Communication (2999)